Saturday, October 25, 2014

October Round Robin Blog Fest


Welcome back to another spooky episode of the Round Robin Blog Fest!
This month's topic is:
What's the scariest thing that has happened to you?
I had to think about this one. There are many scary things that have happened to me, but I decided to write about a lighthearted spook I met.

I was about 12 years old at the time and babysitting a herd of kids who had long gone to bed. I was at the age horror movies were beginning to fascinate me and staying up late while babysitting was the only opportunity I had to watch one.

The hour was late on the farm in the middle of nowhere and the only light in the yard came from a bright yard light in front of the house. Since the parents weren't due home for another hour or two, I had a movie on television. I'd taken the opportunity at commercial break to find a snack to enjoy the rest of the movie with. On my way back to the livingroom, I was careful to turn out every light in order to savor the movie in darkness.

As I came around the corner and caught a glimpse out the front window, I saw something that made my heart nearly stop. A large white, shapeless object glided across the yard. I shrieked and nearly dropped my snack. The object moved slowly then came to a stop beneath the light post.

The family's white--very much alive--horse shook then lowered its head to eat.
I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry.
Needless to say, it wasn't a story I shared with very many people until now! Hope you'll jump over to visit Fiona McGier and see what her scariest thing is!


Feel free to check out the other participating Authors: 
Heidi M: http://heidiwriter.wordpress.com/
Skye Taylor  http://www.skye-writer.com/
Anne Stenhouse  http://annestenhousenovelist.wordpress.com/
A.J. Maguire  http://ajmaguire.wordpress.com/
Rachel Kosnski  http://the-doodling-booktease.tumblr.com/
Margaret Fieland http://www.margaretfieland.com/blog1/
Geeta Kakade http://geetakakade.blogspot.com/
Marci Baun  http://www.marcibaun.com/
Beverley Bateman  http://beverleybateman.blogspot.ca/
Victoria Chatham  http://victoriachatham.webs.com/
Diane Bator http://dbator.blogspot.ca/
Fiona McGier http://www.fionamcgier.com/
Rita Karnopp  
Ginger Simpson  http://mizging.blogspot.com/
Rhobin Courtright  http://rhobinleecourtright.com/